Boost Self-Confidence While You Crush Fitness Goals

I discovered Krav Maga while getting lost in one of my epic google-search rabbit holes. It was mid-summer 2018 and I felt that I had hit a wall on my weight-loss journey. I also felt that my body was ready for some intense exercise. I have never been a fan of going to the gym as I find it uninspiring and monotonous.

Martial Arts have always intrigued me. But I wasn’t ready for a long-term commitment to work my way up the belt ranking systems. I wanted to learn some basic fighting skills in a short period of time. I also wanted to build up cardio and strength training. Krav Maga met all my criteria.

Physical fitness is a very important component of Krav Maga training.  Classes involve a lot of high-intensity interval training (HIIT).  There is a lot of kicking, punching, elbows, blocks, push-ups, sit-ups, squats and running. You can expect to use 30-50% more energy than you would in a less vigorous workout class.

The following videos will give you a good idea of what it’s all about:

I’ve been lucky to train with Cyrus Osena and his team at Spartan Combat Fitness Centre in Burlington. Cyrus is a highly-skilled Krav Maga instructor with years of experience.  He has trained internationally under some of the most distinguished experts and instructors.  He has certification to instruct Civilian, Law Enforcement and VIP Protection.

The Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) developed this tactical self-defence system. During the early days of the State of Israel, the military had to call on any available personnel including women and older people. The IDF designed this system so that anybody can learn it as quickly as possible. It has since been adapted for civilian use.

Krav Maga focuses on real world situations. It is extremely efficient with its brutal counter-attacks. The philosophy of training emphasizes self-preservation above anything else. Students train to neutralize threats swiftly by defending and attacking at the same time.  Major targets are vulnerable areas on an attacker’s body. This allows the defender to disengage from the situation and escape safely.

Practicing Krav Maga has definitely boosted my physical and mental self-confidence. I feel ready for any life-threatening situation that may arise. Also, getting in shape is amazing for the mind and body. I have pushed my body past many limits and have surprised myself.

I highly recommend Krav Maga to anybody that is looking to get into better shape. This system is easy to learn regardless of your age, size, gender or previous martial arts experience.

One thought on “Boost Self-Confidence While You Crush Fitness Goals

Leave a comment